Instography

By Instography

2010 Photowalk Inverary

I think this is the first time I've set an alarm when I've been camping, reckoning that we'd need to be up at 7.30 to get ready to drive to Inverary for 9.30. In the end we were a few minutes late meeting up with Richard and the others for our guided walk around the town, with Richard having organised privileged access to shops and the jail as well as showing us some nice wee nooks that a casual visitor would surely miss.

This was my favourite photo of the day - the proprietor of the Tardis-like Scotch Heather Shop showing us the fine view of some tower or other to be had from the lane at the side of his shop. The wee lady in the background lives opposite the shop.

Another favourite was the proprietor of Loch Fyne Whiskies which I've put in my folio. Now, I'd never normally pass through Inverary without popping into this shop for a wee bottle but it was nice to be allowed to browse and take photos and watch this guy selling. His sales pitching is brilliant to watch and even more pleasurable to be sold to since I only had to mention that I'd bought a bottle of Ledaig last year and he whipped a bottle of this year's Malt of the Year and poured me a wee dram to taste. A lovely Madeira Wood Springbank, 11 yo, cask strength. I had to pop back later and get one.

After our lovely wandering (and with the rain holding off) we drove back to the camp site via the Loch Fyne Brewery were I picked up a few bottles for the evening's relaxation and a case of Piper's Gold to take home.

A lovely day and many thanks to Richard for organising it.

~~ filled in for yesterday too. I wonder if anyone can name the book? ~~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.