Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Kindrogan

Early this afternoon I boarded a train for Pitlochry, ready for an intensive week of geology. The journey was uneventful though apparently there were issues with space as passengers had brought luggage. Bringing luggage on a train? How inconsiderate! When I got to the station I found that the guy I'd arranged a taxi share with was a lovely gentleman who I'd met at the residential two years ago. It was lovely to see a familiar face.

On arriving at Kindrogan Field centre I found a number of people from my group at last year's residential and also met some really nice new faces.
The field centre is set in beautiful countryside and my single room (because I'm special), whilst small, has a plug socket which I'd been told it wouldn't. To give you an idea how in the back of beyond I am, the centre was only hooked up to a mains water supply a month ago! I spent a leisurely afternoon chatting to other early arrivers before dinner was served. They laid on a vegetarian buffet this evening, it was nice but the only downside was the only protein option was quiche which, if you've ever made one you will know, is full of dairy (let's hope tomorrow's food fairs better).

In the evening we had a short lecture about the area and what would be covered this week before being allowed to retire to the bar. At my previous residentials the bar has been substandard and instead of joining my colleagues for a beer after lectures I have retired straight to bed. However here the bar is in a small corner of the lounge and is stocked with a range of "exotic Scottish beers" and they seem to be selling them at supermarket prices. I couldn't be happier. Unfortunately I think quite a lot of drinking might happen this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.