Revolutionary

... as in circles, the shapes of this gallery and ceiling.

But more than that - I took this in the Ceredigion Museum, a building which was once a Victorian theatre and then a cinema. I remember going to see films here in the sixties, and especially seeing Che, about Che Guevara who immediately became my revolutionary hero when I was fifteen or sixteen. Lots of family memories came back to me here - my mother loved the place, my son did work experience here when he was at school, we had a retrospective of my mother's work here and the launch of a book my sister and I edited to celebrate the centenary of our father's birth....

And also the idea that a simple museum of Welsh rural life can be a revolutionary symbol to some - one of my Occitan friends, the most passionate of them all about her own culture, said just before we arrived at the museum how she wished that Occitan people could be as 'revolutionary' as Welsh and Catalan people about valuing and promoting their language and culture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.