Confession nr: 1 (controversial I know).

My daughter is a smoker. She started in hide in the age of 12 and we had no clue about it back then. I quit smoke in order to be a good role model for my coming teens. Did it pay off, no.

I lived in a bubble. Only a few years ago I lived in a bubble of love. I had my view about how our life was but i did woke up, brutally. In the age of 13 things started to happen. It was a heavy period and when we tried to follow the "book" things got even worse. I realized then, in my awakening, that we needed to go our way as a family and do what WE think is good for us. We are not a family that follows the un written rules. We follow our instinct and hearts.

As a parent this is so hard. The last few years I grown as a mother and now, finally things are settling down. People in a power position (school etc) been having "much" to say about stuff but we have been standing in our power. Did it pay off, yes.

Now we have a relation based on trust, respect and two way communication. I am not her best friend, I am her mother but yet, she know i am here whenever she need. She can tell me whatever she has to and I have her trust. She has my trust as well, to one point (after all, she is a teen).

I learned to choose my battles and stick with the ones I chose. That makes her safe. She knows where she has us.

It is important to me to show our "other" side. Sometimes we look like the perfect family when i describe the love and all that but no, we are not. Honesty is a key word for me. I adore my crazy family and sometimes i am the craziest one but i think they love me too (smiles).

And of course she knows about this blip and gave me her permission to the picture and the words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.