Tuscany

By Amalarian

DANGEROUS LILY

I saw these yesterday returning from pic and fungi hunting and could not believe my eyes. They were growing high up on a steep bank, some of them suffering under an old fig tree.
There were masses of them.

This morning I was awakened by a clap of thunder and a brief downpour. These individualistic little storms do come streaming down from the mountain, spitting and hissing, make their way across the valley in the direction of the next high hill. Once one was so violent it blew open my office doors, lifted all the papers in a whirlwind, dumped in a lot of water and was on its way within five minutes.

Anyway, after today's little shower I went out to see if I could get a shot of the lilies. Yes, of course, lots of them. They were high above me and I had to zoom in. It was hard to balance on the steep terrain. I slipped once and clutched at weeds as I slid. I am still covered in mud as I write.

So, here is the best of the lot. I thought they might be pretty in dappled sunlight but I'm not going down there again. What I need is a better zoom. Right?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.