Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Apple picking n wine tasting

After evacuating our family vacation everyone was in such low, bewildered spirits I had to do something and try to salvage our week off. Sooo, I convinced my mom and aunt Stephanie to come up to Charlottesville with me for a day in the mountains.

And you know, it was spectacular! We visited Ashlawn, President James Monroe's old estate. A gorgeous old house with ancient oaks, apples and pears, giant hedgerows, and views over the Blue Ridge. Then we went wine tasting at one of the many nearby vineyards. I grabbed a bottle of the red, my aunt Stephanie grabbed the white. Then, we drove up Graves Mountain to pick peaches and nerd out on funny billboards, like this wormy apple.

To top it off we brought back all the apples, pears, peaches, and wine we gathered in the mountains to meet my dad and brother Eric, uncle Steven, Judy, and cousin Corey at the house. Eric made his home made barbeque. I made a steamed kale salad with parmesan and lemon juice, and my dad made homemade baked beans. Then, from scratch cake, ice cream, fresh fruit, and blackberry wine with a movie.

We watched the Fantastic Mr. Fox, my new favorite movie I think. *Whistling...clicking*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.