Visitor

A visitor has been dropping by my aunt Stephanie's house of late. A young raccoon with a broken leg or infected injury who needs some help. So she has been feeding him cat food and wondering to call a vet to help (if there is such a person) or let nature take care of itself. I am ambivalent and unsure what to do with our visitor, but I hope he is alright....

I came here to visit with my parents, convincing all of our great family to get out and enjoy the day again. With late summer finally come, crisp air, and drowsy leaves just beginning to drift down from leafy boughs it is a time to be outside. We came to Maymont Park, an old estate turned into walking trails, petting zoo, and gardens in the midst of the city. My mom would take me here when we lived in the city as a little boy and I have never forgot playing in the Japanese gardens, or many wild raccoons around our house down on Riverside Drive peeping over our windowsills at night.

Come evening we all went out for dinner together with my aunt Stephanie, aunt Pat and uncle Danny. Later I met my mates, Mike, David, and Kristen for a night out. David is just visiting too, off leave from the Navy. It is always so lucky we seem to come back home at the same times.

Walk down memory lane...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.