In Tru Life

By TruLife

My Avenue!

I love the Avenue where I live, I have a flat (apartment) and I wish I had a house but I do love the location... and isn't that what it's all about anyway? Location, location, location?

I love the trees.

The story goes that the trees were left over from the Botanical gardens and they planted them in my street way back when the Botanics opened. The trees are not designed for residential streets as the roots are way too large and long and are disrupting the foundations of the buildings.

The council were just going to chop them all down and that would have been a disaster. Madeleine used to watch them through the window when she was a baby and the swaying in the breeze sent her off to sleep, or at least soothed her on many occasions. I was not happy!

Everyone protested and we got them to rethink their plans, so now they cut down one every few years and plant one or two new ones which are more suitable for a residential street... I am happy! I wanted to share the view down my street with you guys, but maybe I'm just bias in loving it. When I drive or walk down the Avenue I really feel like I've arrived home again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.