Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Diaspora

I have been making a habit of doing work in the morning and taking the afternoons to get away and explore. This morning I worked at a coffees shop on a proposal and then met Sharon for lunch with the guys at Wicked Delicate.

In the afternoon I sped away through the labyrinth tunnels under the East River arriving amidst the soaring buildings of Manhattan. I've come to visit the Metropolitan Museum of Art, better known as the MET, one of the most extensive collections of art in the world. I've been here before, though a day, or even a week for me would still not be enough time to immerse oneself in this famous place. I've always been attracted to art, and it is my habit to linger long through the hallways. This time though I meandered through many halls and tried to see as much as I could.

Over a vast diaspora across space and time I ranged through the ancient world of Egypt, China, Japan, India, Nepal, Siam, Persia, and Babylon all the way into the impressionism and abstract of the modern. This place is a treasure like that, a wonder house of our collective human culture and expression...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.