Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Sacrifice

Do I have to sacrifice my happiness and freedom in exchange for what could lead to my bigger dreams and aspirations?

That seems to be the gist of the question that I keep struggling with here. It has been fun to visit Sharon, see the city, and learn new things but the down side is that a lot of things aren't exactly coming together. So many things that I'm beginning to take it as an omen that this isn't for me.

A big one recently was the apartment I thought I had sealed the deal on recently that fell through. A great price, a big backyard, two mellow girls, and only three blocks from Sharon in the same neighborhood. I had a lot riding on it, after a long, fruitless, and frustrating search since arriving, but in the end they gave it to a girl-friend they already knew.

On the project front, Sharon has been in crunch mode since I've arriving juggling work with Wicked Delicate and freelance animations leaving no time to collaborate on our own things. I am beginning to realize that until we can put real life jobs on hold or both clear out enough space and time for other things our projects will always be on the back burner.

And then of course NYC ain't cheap. Even staying with friends I feel like I am hemorrhaging money here, paying more for less. Most of all though I miss space and fresh air and freedom. I miss nature, which is why all my photos keep gravitating towards what little I can find if you haven't already noticed!

I snapped this shot in the Pratt Institute Sculpture Garden, just around the corner from Sharon's apartment. It is a nice place to lay in the grass and read, meander amongst modern art, and walk on something other than concrete. This exhibit was not symbolic of sacrifice, but rather the injustice and inhumanity people inflict on one another.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.