Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Rain, Rain Please Stay

"Rain!" That was the announcement voiced as members of the Matriculation Committee walked out of our afternoon meeting.

The sky made promises all day, but most of us figured they were empty promises. Mid-morning I had walked across the campus to my class and then back at 12:30. Mid-afternoon I walked the other direction across campus to the meeting. Not a drop of rain during any of those journeys.

So at 3:45 when the meeting concluded, we stepped out into moisture (the sidewalks were much wetter near the Science Technology Building than the concrete floor of the amphitheater).

In this photo I can see my office door, which faces the amphitheater. As I got to the stairs I could hear my camera in my pants pocket screaming "Stop! Stop!" I hadn't taken that camera out of my pocket all day.

A short pause at the top of the stairs, five clicks, and down the stairs I went. Back in my office, I packed the papers that needed grading into my shoulder bag, powered-down my laptop, removed it from the docking station, stuff it into its case, grabbed my purse, and swung open the big glass door and into the air freshly rinsed with rain.

I wanted to get home so badly, that I skipped stopping at the grocery store and knew we could "made do" (or is that due?) (I know it's not dew)!! ;-) Anyway, I knew we had enough veggies to steam a batch to fill our dinner plates.

Home to the fireplace. Home to Mr. Fun who had arrived there just before me. Home because it's where I long to be.

The fire is burning; the veggies are consumed; and I am where I belong!

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka

P.S. Just to the right of the library building are the foothills I blipped yesterday from our backyard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.