Polar Duck Training

By JanineLewis

A peaceful secluded hidden Bivvy

Did two small walks today, totally 11km, to just boost body up. Still got slight swimmy head and BP reading not that good!

Morning walk was in the mist and by contrast the afternoon walk was blue skies and full on sun! I accompanied son out on his new bike (other one was stolen).

Washed the tyre that will be my new walking companion. Currently running a little competition for ideal name. Yes, I want to name my tyre! I shall be spending a lot of time with him; plus Fibroduck will be a passenger.

Was due to meet Steve Blythen for a training walk of 10km this afternoon but our plans were thwarted by modern technology. We shall plan things better and actually speak directly rather than rely on social networks. Steve is going to the Gobi in 2011 on expedition and is using the tyre pulling as training too. He is local to me so will be good to have some company too.

I am also due to meet up with Arctic Mummy at some point, who is also training for a Polar Challenge but she sets in March 2011. She is a few more miles further south, but practically on doorstep.

I have also set up the cardio trainer on my Android phone to make sure I record my mileage and training programme for each day. It can also remind me of my schedule each day. Plus records calories. A useful little app.

A slow and relaxing day. I should have sneaked into that brilliant bivvy in my photo. I love the fact that the young people in our area have had some good ol fashion fun in the woods, doing some bushcraft, a passion of mine.

Breakfast ?
Banana, 2 weetabix, tsp sugar, 2 cups tea

Lunch ?
2 fried eggs in a wrap, beetroot juice (good for reducing bp!)

dinner-
small gammon steak, mashed carrots with potatoes (milk n butter), peas, sweetcorn, large dollop of coleslaw with a little cheese (waitrose special!) can of original Guinness

snacks ?
Nakd bar, 1 more beetroot juice, packet of unsalted,low fat crisps (waitrose own), slither of feta cheese, slice of Mozzarella cheese, a small Mr Kipling French Fancy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.