schlimm

By schlimm

Every cloud...

has a silver lining or something similar.

I had written all of this yesterday but must have forgotten to press the right button so I will have to write again.

I've done it, I've handed in my notice today. Not the easiest thing I've done in my life. Actually writing the letter had me in tears, streaming down my face. I have worked for my Monday to Wednesday job for the last 9 years, have made many friends, and have been supported through getting married and having one, two, three children. But the time is right to move on. Instead of getting onto two buses and travelling for about three hours from and to work every day I will walk 15 minutes to get to my so far Thursday job which will now be my Monday till Thursday job.

The more I think about the new challenges and opportunities the more excited I am. But I'm still at the other work and going on as if nothing had happened. There's a lot to finish, file and fix before I leave.

Interestingly enough when I told some of my bosses they all asked if there was anything they could do to keep me. If they thought that I was so indispensible, why did they not ask before? I know this is common practice but I still wonder if it wasn't better to do something before the person leaves but I've made my mind up and maybe one day I'll return to the organisation but not just now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.