Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Hear the Humming

Last night long after dark, Mr. Fun heated the spa and even though the night air was chilly, I put on my swim suit and joined him. As usual our two pool friends joined us . . . poking their big ol noses right up against the spa wall, staring at us. Eventually they floated smoothly, silently toward the deep end. Then we could see the night lights off in the distance.

This afternoon I was sitting in the upstairs office that overlooks the front of the house and neighborhood. I've worked there most of the day grading papers and getting caught-up when I realized the sun was beginning its farewell. So with camera in hand, I descended the stairs, walked toward the backyard, stepped onto the patio, and into the gray day. All the while thinking, "This won't produce much."

Then I noticed the grin on these two faces and I knew . . . I knew they'd been up to no good all day. Just out there playing, floating, and twirling on the water's surface without a care in the world. And I remembered . . .

. . . Remembered that sometimes early in morning I hear him singing to her. He thinks I can't hear him as he begins humming so softly to her, but then his excitement gets the best of him as he kicks up the rhythm and swims circles around her; then jumps, flips, and lands beside her to finish the song ever so softly . . . more beautiful than I can describe. Can you hear him . . . listen. It's a backyard love affair!

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.