pooba.gingernut

By QuerkyPoo

FLYING SPOONIES

Round the traps today - misread the tide - thought it would be just right at around 4pm - forgot the 30-40 min daily difference - silly old fart!
but got a few in the bag - then went for a latte with Mrs Pooba - then on the way home I spied the spoonbills ( 20 or so ) on the man-made islands at the Estuary - not their usual place ? - I'd only just said to Mrs P - I hadnt seen the spoonies around. there they were!! Mrs. P had gone off in her own car home.

I knew they would fly soon - as the wading bird principle is an hour before and an hour after high tide they feed and can be close in for pix. - decided to wait for half an hour - gave up thinking I already had todays blib!! - a dog fight between a Caspian Tern and a Southern Black backed gull - - got home and found Mrs Pooba was dead keen to get back into situ - We did and sure enough right on Q they took off !!

I thought I'd chosen their flight path correctly but they moved away into the East wind - never mind - thanks to Mrs. P's insistence we bagged a few in flight ( at a distance ) great feeling to get their habit right - a bit like stalking a fish or something ??
rgds pooba.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.