Fisherking

By Fisherking

I got to be myself........

This little gem is the booklet given to 30 or so of our pupils today, by a visiting motivational "guru".

The kids were with him all day and it devastated my lesson, I only had 4 pupils left. A colleague took my 4 and I went up to see what the event was about.

The guy presenting was talking to the pupils about lateral thinking when I got there. He asked them several questions, to which he didn't want "logical" answers but lateral answers.

Example:- If Mr. Smith's peacock lays an egg in Mr. Browns garden, who owns the egg?
The answer:- No-one, peacocks don't lay eggs, pea hens lay eggs.

When I was a kid these used to be called "trick" questions.

I was looking for something more on the lines of:- In a locked room, Romeo and Juliet are dead on the floor, Cleopatra is asleep on the couch. the only other items in the room are a table, some glass and a pool of water. How did R & J die?

Answer :- R & J are goldfish, Cleo is a cat, she dragged the goldfish bowl off the table, it smashed and R & J died of asphyxiation.

The pupils seemed to be enjoying themselves, but I'm not sure they were thinking laterally.

I don't know what happened the rest of the day, but when I met up with some of the pupils at the end of the day, the reviews were mixed.

I do know I had a chat with the "guru" and he informed me that with my 31 years of teaching experience I could get a job with his company any time!

As I took this shot I also realised that this is my 98th blip! On Thursday it'll be my hundredth!

Help!.................. Am I supposed to do something special that day?

Any suggestions?

Das vidanya from a house being battered by a freezing cold North wind tonight, takes me back to Siberia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.