.....Sojuz nerusimyj respublik svobodnykh........

The Russians are coming!!!!

Technically, no longer the National Anthem of Russia, more correctly the Anthem of the U.S.S.R, but this is the version most people know.

It was confirmed today that after a two year hiatus our friends from Siberia are paying us a visit, beginning Novemebr 14th for a week.

10 adults and 20 pupils.....no confirmed names yet.....definitely my friend Vladimir can't come.......... but hopefully some of the others that I spent time with will be here....maybe Katya and Marina.

I'm excited......they will be very busy.....but the evenings will be fun......maybe there will even be time for a few of us adults to go out without the students....vodka galore!!!!!!

The pin badge was given to me by the British Council when I hosted Vladimir in 2007, it's been on my jacket ever since.

I need to start looking round for some little presents to send back with them for Vladimir and his family for Christmas......something typically British. When he stayed he was here until a couple of weeks before Christmas and couldn't get over the fuss we make of it...so we sent him home with all sorts of little nick-nacks, a santa mobile, selection boxes for his children, flashing holly pin badges, gifts for him and his wife....and of course some Jack Daniel's....he left us babushka dolls and vodka.

Better start brushing up on my Russian again, although they all speak English....it'll be such fun!

Das vidanya moy padruga.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.