Fisherking

By Fisherking

...just like spinning plates....

Today has been one of those up and down days

Last week I had a letter from the Tax Office, informing me I owe them £800+, today after several tries I finally got through to them on the phone and discovered the fault is my employers not mine, so I can appeal and probably won't have to pay the tax..........then my sister called and her test results are not good.......then I found a fiver I didn't know I had...............then I got a letter from the Council informing me that I'd been photographed driving for approx 20m in a bus lane and the fine is £30 (I wouldn't care but the bus lane is in a really stupid place and is only about 50m long in total!!!). Staying in tonight just in case anything else can go wrong.

My quiz team mate Jayne kindly e-mailed me a brief report of last night's quiz which I couldn't take part in due to being at an AGM, so here goes!

Game was away at the other Rose and Crown.
Round 1 we won 4-8 due to a knowledge of pungent gases.
Round 2 lost 8-6 because Phil didn't know which bird belongs to the family Turdidae. Total 12-14
Round 3 trounced them 2-9 thanks to Jayne's ability to translate Game shows into French, Total 14-23
Round 4 only 1 point for us on the theme of winter, 4 for the opponents. Total 18-24
Round 5 Won 3-5 thanks to knowledge of Vampire fiction Total 21-29
Round 6 4-10 thanks to Terry and Ann's expertise on Dickens and 1970's sit-coms. Total 25-39
Round 7 a 5-5 draw Total 30-44
Round 8 lost 5-4 Total 35-48

7 straight wins, still top of the League, told you they didn't need me!!!

Phil's answer to the bird question was "Seagull" should have been Thrush!
hardest question of the night? "Named after a 17th/18th century English physician waht name is given to the small channels in compact bone that contain blood vessels?"
Bloody hell I'm a Biology teacher and I don't know that.....Haversian Canals after Dr Clopton Havers!

Jayne also reports that the quiz was interrupted by the sound of Petula Clark...turns out that in the room next door a group was planning a funeral and playing the departed's favourite songs which were relayed into the quiz room!

Das vidanya comrades.

Oh... the trophies are from winning the League and the Cup in 2009.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.