Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

New Earrings

This past Thursday at the Downtown Riverside Art Walk, the two of us visited a gallery displaying the art of a friend and colleague, Karin Skiba. She is the art professor at the campus where I teach. Along with her numerous paintings, she also had jewelry for sale. I purchased one pair of earrings. I told Karin my story about Baltic Amber.

With every mention of Baltic Amber, I am transported to the summer of 2004 to a journey made with my friend Peg Smith to the Capitals of the Baltic Sea. Peg is a geographer and teaches at several community colleges and universities. Thanks to her, I have had the opportunity of traveling to several interesting regions.

The 2004 trip began and ended in Copenhagen. During that trip, at every port the local merchants lined the pavement to entice us to purchase their wares and many of them sold Baltic Amber. Peg and I were both attracted to the gem. We'd never seen it before. I'm fond of it because it reminds me of my birthstone, topaz.

Tallin, the capital of Estonia, was the first port we visited. I'm embarrassed to admit that it was a country I knew almost nothing about, but that was no longer true after our walking tour with a local college man who was our official guide. We learned fascinating history about a nation so very different from the one where we have lived our lives. It was there that we were introduced to Baltic Amber.

When our walking tour was over, we rode the bus back to the ship, where the merchants were again selling lots of interesting things. Peg and I looked at each other and both agreed we'd probably find a better deal on amber at a future port. So we boarded the vessel and didn't think twice about that decision.

In the next 10 days we visited St. Petersburg, Helsinki, Stockholm, Visby, Berlin, Potdams, and Copenhagen. At each port we had the opportunity to purchase Baltic Amber. Well, because we had each murdered our piggy bank, we were overly cautious with our shopping and at one port, Peg's camera broke. A geographer without a camera is devastated. So there in the port of Visby, where we neither one spoke their language, Peg found a camera shop but learned her camera was beyond repair, so she purchased another one. That was not part of her planned budget.

We foolishly convinced ourselves at each opportunity that we'd find Baltic Amber cheaper at the next stop. Ultimately, we found ourselves back home without any. For the past six years we've kidded each other about Baltic Amber and occasionally have purchased jewelry for the other that "looks" like the gem.

In the art gallery the other evening, I told Mr. Fun, "These look like Baltic Amber."

He replied, "Buy them for Peg."

I told Karin the story. She laughed at me and said, "Carol, these are not amber, they are only glass." That contributed, I'm sure, to my being able to afford them.

Thursday evening I bought the earrings -- for me -- not for Peg. I think they are beautiful (the photo doesn't do them justice). When the light catches them at just the correct angle, they shine like Baltic Amber.

Here in southern California, the first Sunday in November is just about gone. Good night. Have a great week.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.