Life in Fife ©

By LifeInFife

Honneur

Absolutely no chance of even attempting to do anything interesting with the new camera today. Rain lashed, winds howled and all in all it was not a day for the outdoors. I think its set to stay that way for the next few days at least :(

Listening to the news tonight about the protest by Celtic supporters at yesterday's football match who described the remembrance poppy as "bloodstained", I was remided of this little World War 1 souveneir hidden in the recess of a drawer.

These postcards were very popular during the first world war and were sent home to loved ones. The embroidery was done by the women of France and Belgium onto strips of silk mesh, initially by hand, subsequently on home machines and later in factories. Once completed the multiple image strips were sent to the factories for cutting and mounting onto postcards. Thousands of designs were produced and as a thing of beauty in a hash war environment they became a popular keepsake for troops and their loved ones.

This one belonged to my father in law who had a largeish collection of them. They are all gone now but I was given this one. I love the allied flags and the motto. A fitting remider to me, of those who fought and died in World War 1 and 2.

It is amazing how bright the threads are after over 90 years. I always mean to frame it or in some way preserve it, but I will probably end up sticking it back in the drawer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.