Fisherking

By Fisherking

...It's the little St.Nick....

Actually it isn't, it's bloody enormous!

Went to the Continental Market in Manchester today, this chap sits above the entrance to the magnificent Victorian Town Hall in Albert Square.

The market has grown over the past few years . It used to be almost exclusively German but now there are stalls from Italy, France, Holland, U.K., Belgium, Spain and this year Russia and Transylvania!

The Boss, the Daughter and I wandered around for about 3 hours. We decided this year not to buy sausage, cheese, bread etc, because we always eat it all way before Christmas! This year only Christmas presents.

We managed to pick up some lovely Transylvanian glass for someone I can't mention because they read my blip, a Secret Santa gift for a work colleague I also can't mention for the same reason,something else that I can't mention because the couple it is for will guess it's for them because we've already got one and keep telling them they need one and some silly badges for me and my card playing mates to wear. Mine says "Ho bloody Ho", Derek's says "Bah Humbug" and Brian's says "So...this is Christmas"

Rach did ok though, she managed to pick up a couple of gifts for her two Grandads, a gift for me,a gift for the Son and Heir and Young Helen and a snuggle bottle for herself. The Boss and Rach also bought little hessian lunch bags, which seem to be very popular this year...the Boss's has "My Little Lunch Bag" emblazoned on it ,Rachel's has "Pirates are Good"

We had an enormous roast pork sandwich, Rach and I also couldn't resist a couple of Bratwurst and we stopped at a nice little bar called Beluga for mulled wine.

Rach also bought a bag of tiny Dutch ginger biscuits and the very nice Dutch man explained to her that she had made a good choice because today is St.Nicholas day (Sinterklaass day in Holland) and these little biscuits are eaten by every one with other goodies.

I suppose it being Sinterklaas Day also makes my blip very appropriate...if you're Dutch....any way it's made me feel quite Christmassy...at least until I wake up for work tomorrow.

Das vidanya.

p.s I've amended my spelling of Sinterklaas thanks to a lovely comment

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.