jeni and the beans

By themessymama

Attention span of a ...

... gnat.

That would be Ben.

Good day today. Tots this morning, craft went well, came home, Ben fell asleep. I had humous on toast, with chopped peppers and humous, and a cup of tea while he slept. Mmmmmm. Gorgeous. Woke up, had waffles, went out to get the winter wheels fitted on the car, watched the trains, came home, made hot chocolate and lit the fire, and then Ben had a chance to be Ben.

He got his beany hat and jammed it on his head at such a jaunty angle, half the edge tucked under, made it look so bohemian it was untrue. I couldn't've got it looking that good if I'd tried. Except by the time I got the camera out he'd decided he didn't want to wear it any more and I couldn't get him to put it back on at all.

Then I had to go upstairs (for a nappy, in case you were wondering) and heard this clop-clop-clopping coming from the stairs. Ben had got my (and his) favourite pair of red heels out and was climbing the stairs wearing them! I deposited hi on the ground, told him to put them back on, and ran into the front room to get the camera ready this time. "Come into the front room, Ben..." so he did, and I managed one picture, which doesn't really show them off very well and it focussed in the wrong place because I was too slow, but it's a cool picture anyway.

Then we spotted daddy crossing the road so climbed into the window to watch him arrive. Ben headbutted the window in his excitement.

And then, he decided to briefly play really really nicely with his train set, in front of the fire, looking all picture perfect, and he actually stayed there long enough for me to take a picture. (Admittedly by this point, I had the camera all set up with roughly the right white balance/iso/aperture/shutter speed and it was turned on ready and waiting.

I'm learning. Slowly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.