Ed's Blip

By edjackson

Ice Crystals

All trains from Glasgow Queen St were cancelled this morning after a points failure in the tunnel. So I was working from home again. Pat & Joanne's boiler is on the blink again so they came up to our house to look after Orla. I went out for an hour of snow shovelling before lunch, to get the car useable and defrost it a bit. The temparatue gauge said minus eleven degrees. My hands were chilling rapidly whilst trying to take this picture. So rapidly that I had to go back inside and hold them against a radiator before coming out again. Pat came out to help and between us we got the car ready to go - once the temperatues rise a little (I'm not risking taking it out when it's so cold that rock salt doesn't have any effect!).

We're very lucky we have a Tesco within walking distance. I've been going round at every opportunity to stock up with as much as I can carry. Deliveries have clearly not been arriving (probably stuck on the M8!) and some shelves are starting to look relatively bare. There's no sliced bread left and there's only skimmed or whole milk.

Catherine came round late afternoon to get a bit of work done and will be staying the night as it will be easier to get a train from here (if they are running) than from her flat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.