Uncertain Emotions

By meltingman

Have tablecloth, can enter

Not a great quality pic, but there's not time to download one from the camera.

Been in York this evening for the Minster carol service. My friend H2 was helping and I gave her a hand to take some tablecloths in. The Minster was closed to tourists, so we got to the doors, she gave me 2 to carry so that I'd look like I was with the organisers. Lo and behold, the lady on the door, saw our tablecloths, smiled and opened the security barrier for us. I'm thinking of carrying a tablecloth with me me now in case it grants me access to other buildings... Perhaps the tableloth will become the new towel*

The Minster is truly stunning and I defy anyone not to get goosebumps when the lights go out and the choir go past with candles, singing in the darkness.

"A towel.....is about the most massively useful thing an interstellar hitchhiker can have. Partly it has great practical value - you can wrap it around you for warmth as you bound across the cold moons of Jaglan Beta; you can lie on it on the brilliant marble-sanded beaches of Santraginus V, inhaling the heady sea vapours; you can sleep under it beneath the stars which shine so redly on the desert world of Kakrafoon; use it to sail a mini raft down the slow heavy river Moth; wet it for use in hand-to- hand-combat; wrap it round your head to ward off noxious fumes or to avoid the gaze of the Ravenous Bugblatter Beast of Traal (a mindboggingly stupid animal, it assumes that if you can't see it, it can't see you - daft as a bush, but very ravenous); you can wave your towel in emergencies as a distress signal, and of course dry yourself off with it if it still seems to be clean enough."
Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.