Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

The Tale of Mrs. M

There I was, minding my own business, passers by admiring my new green candy coating, me all dressed up for the holidays...when what to my wondering eyes did appear...

...no, wait, that's Mr. S's story...where was I???

I don't mean to complain, but you know, this was *my* corner! The Charleston General Store is just the place I always dreamed of retiring to. My own quaint little fishing village on the Oregon Coast, a certain amount of anonymity, a chance to blend in. I just never realized how surreal it could be, didn't know how it would feel until these people just surrounded me without warning. They moved so fast, I couldn't even tell if they were coming or going, they just got their songs all over my new coating and didn't even say excuse me. They sang about Joy and Angels and a baby named Jesus. They laughed and seemed so happy and, well, I just didn't know what to say. Maybe anonymity just isn't for me. Maybe I was just made for the camera, bound to attract attention, unable to keep a corner all to myself.

I've given in, this is a working village, but a tourist town as well, and it looks like I'm just bound for the lime light. I'm just irresistible.


The group, Five for One caroling in Charleston today and Christmas at the Cottage. See the Facebook album here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.