Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Christmas is Closer

Honestly, when I saw the fire truck in my rearview mirror, I thought I'd capture this for our little grandson Tristan. He loves fire trucks. Traffic was bumper-to-bumper at the intersection, so I just grabbed my camera, pointed it toward the rear window and clicked. I tried to be ever so subtle, so all the other drivers wouldn't think I was crazy. Then I thought, "Who cares if they think I'm crazy?! I'm never going to meet these people in the cars next to me." I was pretty sure the folks in the cab of the fire truck couldn't even see me either.

Mr. Fun left the house early for a meeting. He had been gone about 10 minutes when I realized his phone was still here. I had a few errands to go do and had planned to get out early, so my first task was to rendezvous with him after his meeting. I arrived a few minutes after the meeting had concluded and his car was gone -- ugh! So I followed the breadcrumbs to the place I thought he might be headed. No, not there. So I circled the place once and thankfully, I saw him arrive. I rolled down the my window and held out his phone. I could see the surprise and relief on his face. Then I was off to get my tasks accomplished. While driving to accomplish one errand after another, I realized a fire truck was right on my bumper. The Christmas wreath was a pretty sight in my mirror.

This afternoon the AT&T guy arrived to resolve the problems we've had for months with our wireless. I invited him in and he immediately explained that he was friends with our daughter -- they have known each other since kindergarten. He found the problem immediately -- the wires outside -- not our problem nor our responsibility. They sent a lineman to the neighborhood and now it's fixed. Woohoo!

Before the AT&T guy left, he gave Mr. Fun (who had just arrived home) several ethernet plug-ins with long cables. So if the wireless is not functioning well, we just plug those into an outlet and the other end of the cable to the computer, and bingo! During the past several months,we have run upstairs 9 million times to unplug the router and plug it back in and then back downstairs to the family room. Hopefully that behavior has now concluded.

Well, the eve of the eve is just about finished. We've had a day without rain and the local mountains are covered with snow. Rain is predicted for the weekend. The city next door, Norco, has 10 million dollars of flood damage and the municipal airport in our city is flooded with many private aircraft underwater -- very costly rain.

Tomorrow is Christmas Eve -- how exciting!
Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.