Life in Fife ©

By LifeInFife

Caitlyn

I may be in the dog house. I took the DSLR into St Andrews in my bag leaving Mr Lif unable to go off and use the new lens. To make matters worse I didnt even take any shots which justified the big camera!!

Its not often these days that I get to go and have lunch with both my kids at the same time. Jake is eleven and is still at home whereas his big sister Caitlyn (Katie) is 26 and lives down in Glasgow. So taking the chance while it was there, we headed off to Jake's favourite restaurant - The Grillhouse in St Andrews. The reason he loves it is they serve sausage fajitas!

Kate and I both ordered the tomato and basil soup as a starter. We were rather perturbed when our bowls arrived with a grey liquid in them. When questioned we were informed that the soup of the day had just changed!!! We ended up with prawn and crab flautas instead!

So this is Kate, my daughter, who is now a lawyer in Glasgow after many years of hard study. She is enjoying it and seems to be doing really well.

Given that my kids are almost 15 years apart she was in effect an "only" child for the most part. Though she has always been a fantastic big sis to Jake since he arrived on the scene!

Katie is witty and intelligent - she undoubtedly takes after her mother! She gets her looks from her father's side though! She and I have had the usual mother/daughter ups and downs but I am really pleased to say she has mellowed and grown into a lovely young woman. So, all of you going through the terrible teens - do not despair it will all come out right in the end :)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.