alice's adventures

By aliceblips

Traffic

Having had a general toy sort out/cull recently, I have noticed a shift in play in our house.

The thing that I am pleased to see back, although I thought i'd never say it, is the good old 'car line-up'. I though those days were over and at one point I was glad. Oddly, I now find myself quite happy to see this familiar site return. Maybe for the last time.

They snake through the hall in long lines, they go in and out of doorways, they park up bumper to bumper in restricted parking zones and, as illustrated here, they get sorted by colour.

I have always tried to respect the 'car line-up' as it seems to be so very important. That said, I have to confess that on occasion I have sneakily moved a car to see if it gets noticed.
It always does.

What's it all about? So many small boys do it.

Two out of my three boys have created this kind of order with cars.
One of them missed this phase out.
Instead he liked to pile things up in big heaps all over the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.