Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

'Win The Day'

'Win The Day'...the motto for our team tonight as they fought for the College Football National Championship. New uniforms, team camaraderie, neon socks, a stadium full of dedicated fans, an inspirational coach and pure electricity in the air. Heavy hor'dourves on the table. Everyone dressed in yellow and green. The kids running around with their hands in the air shouting, "Go Ducks". Extra couches moved into the living room creating a sort of 'stadium seating' in front of the flat screen television. And best of all, the feeling of familiarity sitting around with a room full of special friends experiencing the anticipation and excitement of the game together.

First quarter: Off to a good start. A couple of 'jump up out of our seats' type of moments. And my first announcement, "Everyone, prepare to be my blip at half-time....I have it envisioned in my head and all I am going to need is a ladder". This got a good couple of laughs. And only a few of them knew that I was actually dead serious. That made it even funnier. Second quarter and "Five minutes, 32 seconds until our blip". That got their attention. As far as blips were concerned, it was 'GAME ON'. Several of our 'Duck Fans' met me outside for my blip. I could see this blip in my head and it turned out exactly as I had hoped it would. And when looking closely at this photo, I laugh when I see every expression and every interpretation of every 'O'.

This is one of the most roller coaster type of games that I have ever watched. At one point we were jumping up and down yelling and high-fiving and the next moment, sitting very quietly and somber like. Then up again full of emotional and adrenaline and then back on the couch again....most probably saying a little prayer. In the last 2 seconds of the game, the other team kicked a field goal and won by two. We all just sat there. Unwilling to believe that it was actually over. The Ducks fought hard tonight and they played fair with dignity and class. We are proud to be Oregon fans. We always will be. So to honor our favorite football team in the country, I will end this blip with an "OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.