Davids Photos

By davyatsea

Baker Street Mill

First day of another busy week visiting petroleum sites. This week saw me up in Sunny Essex. Unfortunately, sunshine was at a prenium. But then its January, so what was I expecting really.

I wandered out of the hotel to go and find somewhere to eat and saw this. I simply had to go back to my room and grab the camera and tripod... Thats todays blip, I thought to myself. Only when I arrived back in Portsmouth Wednesday evening when I discovered the history of this mill. I wasn't surprised to read on Wikipedia that this mill has since been converted to residential use - such has happened with many historical properties.

Blip done for the evening, camera safely back in the room, and I wandered about a mile east and found this wee gem of a place. To put it simply, the food was simply devine, and the service exemplary. Its just so nice to find somewhere decent to eat after a hard day working on site.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.