Stairs

Often I'm surprised to see the images I download from my camera at the end of a day which consists mostly of things other than taking photographs. This evening it disgorged:

(a) a grey and black pigeon, dead, up against one of the rails opposite platform 11 in Waverley station. (The train was half an hour late, so I had to amuse myself.)

(b) the stairs up to the castle keep in Newcastle which I walked past on my way to the office in bright sunlight. Years ago, you might have glimpsed meancoast peeking over the battlements with a party of students....

(c) a blurry distant shot of a large-ish bird that was one of four stoatin' about on some waste ground in Gateshead (just so's I could zoom in on him - definitely a thrush, rather than a fieldfare).

(d) a night shot of Waverley steps which are the quickest route up onto Princes St out of the station in Edinburgh, with people hurrying up them in a horrible sort of sleet storm. They're famed for being the windiest place in Edinburgh. OK Scobes, that's apart from our place a few hours after the artichoke soup. ;-)
I took the snap because I'd just seen a poster in the station saying that from Feb 10th the Steps are going to be closed for a year, for some sort of cosmetic re-modelling. (The train back was only 20 minutes late - progress of a sort.)

It was hard to believe that (d) was taken on the same day as (b). They were taken in different countries, come to think of it.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.