Thistle Down

By Ethel

Etched Love

Slowly does the pen race by,
Etching but my love.
It moves in rhythm to my thought,
So like a pure, white dove.

Forming words resplendent, bright,
Those not paired to sound.
Nor spoken by the inward soul,
Like something homeward bound.

Touched by pleasures of the heart,
The part...that words don't say.
That I might touch the dormant walls,
With some majestic ray.

And sear the outer growth to form,
To cover up the rind.
So much...that cankering sequels match,
Deep feelings that are mine.

To push the pen in welded trust,
That it will find a booth.
And there to live in constant bliss,
And love can find the truth.


E.P. 1908 - 1989


This is a drawing made by Ethel - colored in by me. This shows how she signed her drawings which I love to see.

Valentine's Day was important for the direction of Ethel's life. What follows is taken from the introduction to the Thistle Down collection of poems:

"...at this time I was twelve years old, a shy, backward, wordless girl that started to school with my hair in pig-tails and high-top shoes. The children laughed at me, but I only thought them fickle and so unmannerly.

After a while it came to be Valentine's Day. I couldn't buy my valentines to put in the box, so I had to draw and paint them myself. It so happened that from those I made I put one in for our school Principal (Joseph Hansen). When the teacher passed them out, she came to this one for the Principal, and laid it aside. After class was dismissed she took it up to him in his office.

The next day during class, the door opened and in walked the Principal. Every head went up. The teacher pointed me out to him...he touched me on the head and said, "I would rather receive one of your made valentines than the whole box of bought ones." Right then and there it did something to me. I could feel my whole being tingle with pride. I vowed from that time on I would spend my time drawing and painting pictures...if what I did meant so much to one person. I knew that if I had of showed my parents what I had said of love on those valentines that they would of teased, and made fun, and laughed.

From this time on, while I was in grade school I was given the privilege to go each day to a special class. I could get up out of my seat and leave all the other children behind and go when the teacher gave me the signal and go to the, "Class of the Masters."

It was here that I was taught poetry and writing in a way that suited to my age. I learned to like band and orchestra music, opera singing and ballet dancing. It all made a difference in my life. I was really and truly somebody. Even today...when listening to television, and some of these things come on...I like to hear and watch them. There are those who say, "turn it off", but I say, "let me listen", for I like to. It is then that they snicker and laugh at me."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.