Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Window Reflection

When I arrived home from the campus, all I wanted to do was collapse. This has been a very good day, but I am exhausted. So I just sat down at the kitchen table and conversed for a while with Mr. Fun. I had absolutely no desire to cook dinner and kept wishing someone -- the cook, the chef, the maid -- would show-up and prepare our evening meal. Yes, I was dreaming.

So I took a deep breath, gathered all my energy, stepped to the kitchen sink and started the preparation. I was washing my hands when I realized that in the not quite darkness outside, I was seeing myself in the window. So I played around with the camera. I guess that reveals a day with few, make that none, interesting photos. So window reflection is all I've got today.

My Tuesday morning class was amazing. Last week I told all 38 students that I'd drop them if they arrived at the second class session without the required textbook and handbook. In the past I've never taken quite that hard of a stand. Today 33 students arrived for class and all of them had both books and all their supplies. And they were even happy. The entire two-plus hours with them was good. The class still has three more students than it should, but I know a few more will drop when they realize the amount of reading and writing that will be assigned each week.

My students who came to the Writing Center today were eager to learn. I'm really pleased with the start of this semester. I hope Thursday's classes will go as smoothly.

It's now very late . . . we ate dinner late because I sat too long when I got home and then Mr. Fun asked me to watch a movie with him. Now it is bedtime.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.