Tuscany

By Amalarian

HERE'S LOOKIN' AT YOU, KID

It was rough out there this morning, + 2 C when this was taken. I was looking for signs of spring through eyes flooded with tears from the cold and the biting wind. I did find tattered wood violets, periwinkle and even big, fat bumble bees on the first rosemary blossoms.

I heard a rustle in dry leaves and I knew! Wildlife! It might be a mouse, it might be a lizard but I had to get a shot of whatever it was. I got just two and this is the best in focus. I haven't moved quite so fast in a long time. These lizards are very small and swift, about the size of a thin woman's ring finger. It had all green spots when it emerged from the leaves but in the space of a double click, the spots started turning white. I was very close to it and thrilled out of my head. I have no idea what kind of lizard he/she is but it is a sure sign of spring. The leaf behind it is from a pink oxalis. Other people have rabbits, squirrels, birds, deer, and even otters and seals. I've got lizards, mice, buzzards and adders.

For the record: +5 C now but - 1 C last night, frost in the valley. The violets I keep trying to photograph took a beating. Sunny. Sunrise: 7:04; Sunset 5:59.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.