Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Day 10: Blue Lagoon

As our flight wasn?t until late afternoon we decided to fill the day with a trip to the Blue Lagoon on the way to the airport. I wasn?t exactly sure what to expect from the geothermal spa but it was amazing.

After getting changed I realised I?d not agreed somewhere to meet The Boy so I loitered in the small indoor part waiting for The Boy, eventually however I gave up and made the cold dash outside to find him waiting just inside the lagoon along with most of the other men waiting for their women to arrive. Swimming around in the water was lovely, you?d move from shallow to deep, warm to cooler, rocky to silty, all in a milky blue water. Around the pool there are pots of silica mud provided to use as face masks. I had to cringe on the few occasions that I saw people just reach down to the muddy floor of the pool and use this. The water in the pools is refreshed but it isn?t filtered in the way a normal pool is so anything that sinks, stays in the mud!

There were also steam rooms, saunas and a waterfall that provided a fantastic back massage. I?d read a lot on the internet warning of the damage that the silica in the water can do to your hair but I just smothered it in conditioner before going in, rinsed and repeated half way through our time and washed it well at the end and it was fine.

After drying off we got some lunch. I had a slight problem in that none of the sandwiches had ingredients labels on them. I explained to the lady on the till and she arranged to make me a ham salad sandwich with no butter. When it arrived it appeared to be on a cheese roll. Second attempt it came without any ham but I couldn?t be bothered to complain a second time. Before catching our bus to the airport we had a wander around the beautiful surroundings where the water from the lagoons flow in to more pools.

The flight was fine and we arrived in Heathrow around 7:30pm. The Boy?s mum had been in the country and was due to stay at the same place as us so we waited for her flight to arrive at 8pm. Unfortunately the entire luggage from their flight was misplaced so we didn?t get away from Heathrow until well after 9pm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.