Tuscany

By Amalarian

SPOT THE FAKE

That wasn't difficult, was it? The fake is the little jug on the right. In the box marked "Roman pottery" I found quite a few fakes. One has a faded price sticker on the bottom, 1/1. That would be one shilling, one pence. I have no idea what that would be in today's money, supposing that the price goes back to the Victorian era.

I don't think the broken one is Roman but just as I am not a botanist, I am not an archaeologist, either, but I'd say it was Orcadian. It was not thrown on a wheel but was made by the coil method. It is very heavy. It is 13.5 cm high, or 5 1/2 inches. In the hands it feels very ancient and primitive. Detail of broken pottery.

The weather forecast for rain was correct except that when I opened the shutters this morning, big fat snowflakes were falling out of the slate grey sky. The snow didn't stick around but I was not ecstatic to see it. So much for birds, bees and flowers yesterday.

For the record: +5 C. Snow, rain, downright unpleasant. The house is a tip again. The electricity is off, the generator is on. The forecast for seven days of rain has been reduced to four days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.