Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Broccoli

Broccoli. This is not broccoli. I was going to say it was a flower from a magnolia tree but that might not be the case either. But the blip is called broccoli because today, on March 21st 2011, both of our kids, BOTH OF THEM ate broccoli for dinner. Broccoli and shrimp. Amazing. Outstanding. We danced. We sang. We 'wooohooo'd'. There were no tantrums. No crying. No gaging. It was a simple statement really, "kids, I want to warn you that you will be eating broccoli tonight". And my son's response, "Okay Mom". What? I didn't think I heard him correctly. Next thing I knew, he was at the counter dipping his broccoli in ranch. It wasn't that easy for my daughter but yes, she did eat all three bites of her broccoli without resistance.

Broccoli, I never knew that this vegetable would ever bring me such a surge of joy in my life but tonight, it has. We have our own 'broccoli dance' now. Like I said, incredible. We called both sets of Grandparents and made a family decision that we will be eating broccoli with our dinner from now on. As for my husband and I, we love the stuff. I especially like it raw dipped in blue cheese dressing. For me it is kind of like, eating blue cheese with a side of broccoli. I do love my dressing.

We had a nice time at the park today. We had the whole place to ourselves. Maybe because the clouds were threatening rain? Yeah, that's probably why. We packed the bikes, scooters and the skateboard. At one point we are all riding. The kids on their bikes, my husband on the skateboard and me on my scooter. Yes, my scooter. I bought it back when I graduated from my Master's program. A little impulse buy for me. Loved it then and I still love it now. So broccoli, this whole day can all be summed up by that one magical word, broccoli.

And if you get a chance, we had a very special weekend a couple of days ago that I have not got around to blipping yet. I wanted to take some time with my journal and not rush it, so as of tonight.....my darling sister....it is posted. You can check it out here. And A FUNNY PHOTO here. And here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.