jeni and the beans

By themessymama

Aaargh

One of those days, you know, where you want to pull your hair out and run for the hills.

"Mummy BIND it, mummy, pays hip, mummy BIIIIND it! Ben no bind it." Add in a suitably distraught little face, and repeat ad infinitum.

He couldn't find his spaceship.

This normally wouldn't be a problem (the not being able to find something) because I try and keep tabs on where most things are in the house, so I generally have some idea of at least where to start looking.

The problem was that I was unaware of the existence of said spaceship. So was Steve. (I texted him to see if he knew of some spaceship existing in our house.)

It was threatening to drive me mad :( Especially as he would not be convinced that there was no spaceship and I couldn't find something that didn't exist. And he was very very upset. And I was trying to chop vegetables for soup. And it was frustrating.



It hasn't all been frustrating today. This morning has been really civilised! We took daddy to work so I could have the car to go grocery shopping, called in at the supermarket on the way home, and once we'd done our shopping (including buying the shiny green monster truck you can see in the picture) we had breakfast in the cafe. A nice, sensible breakfast of cereal and a cup of tea.

And then a double chocolate muffin :)

Not very long after getting home Ben was exhausted and before I'd even unpacked the shopping he was falling asleep on me so off to bed he went and slept a good two hours while I tidied up all the toys and reorganised so that he can find and get toys out himself. It has been a bombsite in our house since getting back from Manchester, I've just not had the energy to get things done. It took 4 days before I'd even unpacked properly, I think. So to finally tidy up the toys was a monumental achievement.

Oooh talking of Manchester, and therefore the reason why I went, the floor tiles that went down last night are staying down! Hurrah :D We have some tiles!

And talking of the house, you may notice one of the components of the picture is of a lightswitch. We are still in the middle of a full rewire of the house. The lighting circuit is mostly wired up - the kitchen and back bedroom aren't wired in properly yet but the rest of the house is. But, the channels that were dug out for the wires haven't been filled in yet so although it's not bare wire, you can see the conduit casing. There. And the paper thingy is the leftover paper bunting we had up for his birthday last year, all squashed up into a random spiky paper ball thing.

The final components are of Ben drumming. It stopped him pestering me for the spaceship, anyway!



Auntie Ruth is staying over tonight, catching a flight from Gatwick in the morning on her way off on holiday. So Ben is excited. I've told him it is bedtime, he has had half an hour warning, and he is looking tired at least. Steve's gone out to small group for a sociable evening and it hadn't even occurred to us that we had a babysitter in the form of Ruth! But Ben decided that he didn't want me to go out after all and got VERY upset at the thought of it so I have stayed in. (It was a bit worrying to find she'd never changed a nappy before, so perhaps it's a good thing she didn't have to deal with bedtime and nappy changes by herself!!)

Will catch up on blips over the course of the evening :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.