Coincidence

After sitting at my kitchen table, marking coursework from 9am, I decided to head into town mid afternoon. I had a couple of errands to do, but really, I wanted to grab a coffee and sit down to watch the world go by.

All of my favourite haunts were packed to the rafters, so I grabbed a take-away and wandered down to Bridge Street, and parked myself on one of the benches. On the way down, a chap representing the NSPCC jokingly said I could take his photo, but when I said "I can do if you want me to", he declined!

I sat, looking at this, a memorial sculpture that serves as a reminder of the loss of life that acts of terrorism can cause and took a couple of shots. In full, with dedication text

Anyway, I was watching the people go by, pondering on how the sun causes people to behave in a much more relaxed manner and I made eye contact with one of the NSPCC guys - the chap on the left in the photo. He looked utterly knackered and yet asked me if I was OK. I suggested he sit down, so he did and we chatted a little while.

I ponder about what life throws our way. Only two nights ago, James and I were discussing the importance of charities and the fact that I donate regularly to 3 charities. I must have done something right with him, because he said that he thought it was important to help others and that charities do a lot of good work. The statement that touched me most was that if HE had enough money, he would donate to charities that helped children, as not every child was as lucky as him to have people who loved him and looked after him. I intended that evening to register with the NSPCC, but the evening took over and I forgot.

So, sitting with this young man this afternoon, I didn't make it difficult. I agreed to make a regular donation. In the overall scheme of things, I donate the equivalent of the cost of 2 cups of Starbucks coffee a week or 1 Xbox game. It's not much, but it's something. Whilst I am able to, I will donate, because I want to and not because I am coerced. It's not altruism either - I just think that some things are worth contributing to.

We chatted about how sometimes the work of charity reps can be difficult, that people can appear rude or ignorant, but that most often, people do stop, listen, and surprisingly to me, he said that many times, people who are abrupt or rude often come back to apologise. He was very philosophical and accepting that maybe other people aren't rude for the sake of it and that he always considers that maybe there are other things going on for people that cause certain reactions. I was the 8th person who signed up with him today. There was a crew of about 6 or 7 people. He was pleased at the number of people who had joined - I fear that my disposition would lead me to feel a little disheartened at that, but I guess, if you do the maths and work it out over a year, 2 years so on, it starts to build up. Just so that you know - these people are paid hourly, not on any sort of commission.

Kindly, these two allowed me to take their photo, stood by the memorial feature, just in front of where the bomb exploded in 1993. It was good to have human contact, a warm conversation and to make someone smile today.

The final coincidence and something that I only learned today, is that the Foundation for Peace organisation set up in Warrington is jointed owned by the NSPCC and Johnathan Ball Tim Parry Foundation for Peace.

I promised I would blip them and I hope that they see it. Good work - keep it up :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.