Booky Goatherd

By Booky_Goatherd

Wednesday: Smithfield Market

Some days finding a blip can be a struggle and some days there are loads of opportunities.  Today it was the latter.  This was mainly because I was meeting a friend for dinner in Farringdon which is a great area to take pictures.  Added to that, I don't know it particularly well which means that it was all fresh.  Spoilt for choice I was!

This is the entrance to Smithfield Market, London's famous meat market.  It opens at something ridiculous like 0300 in the morning as it is designed for wholesale.  Apparently, you can get a decent pint in that area at 0700 in the morning, as the meat porters often go to the pub at the end of their shift.  By the time I was there this evening, the gates were well and truly closed.

So, tomorrow, as things stand, I am meeting a friend for lunch at 1200, another friend for another lunch at 1500 and then a third friend for drinks, and possibly dinner, at 1900.  I am not quite sure how that happened but I think one of them may have to give!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.