......I quit, I quit.......

Vicki's retirement party tonight.

The surprise worked a treat.

Fantastic food, wraps, mini sandwich rolls,mini beef wellingtons,bhaji's, spring rolls, pork pie, samosas, chicken nibbles, lemon tart with raspberries and clotted cream and blueberry, raspberry and strawberry fruit salad, 8 bottles of wine and a magnum of champagne!

I can't do better than this song from Tom Lehrer to the tune of Clouds.

Tears and fears and feeling small,
The torture starts up every Fall,
The awful things that I've been called,
In classrooms every day.
The fire alarm could wake the dead,
Water fountains spewing lead,
While ceiling tiles fall on my head,
I've thought of school that way.

I've looked at school from both sides now,
I think this year I'll take a bow,.
From head to toe I'm stiff and sore,
I really can't take school anymore.

............................I've skipped a verse here that refers exclusively to the US education system.............................................................

Long vacations, decent pay,
Seven hour working day,
In-service naps and snow delays,
Some see this job that way.
So now my colleagues think I'm strange,
They can't believe I need a change,
But if you ask me they're all deranged,
For coming back each day.

I've looked at work from both sides now
From rich and poor and still somehow,
I've no illusions left at all,
I really won't miss work at all.


The full version can be found on you tube, teachers retirement song

Das vidanya moy padruga.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.