Five things

By fivethings

Tension

1. I make a discovery today. After hours of work, battering through a to-do list that makes you wilt, in the proximity of an ex-boyfriend that borders on the ridiculous, there is absolutely nothing finer than using a pressurised staple gun for 15 minutes. I stopped caring about upholstery or the chair and would have been happy stapling stuff to other stuff for an hour or two. I totally recommend it.

2. I web, I add a hessian base, I thread the base and then I make the seating pad from cow hair (no longer horse hair, its too pricey). Cow hair, on the other hand is 'a natural by-product of the beef industry'. Gadz. It feels softer than I bet you are imagining though and it's a deeply satisfying job.

3. I have this thing - when I see a brand new tub of moisturiser I like to stick my hand right in. I had the same sensation when I see the massive sack of cow hair. I just dip my whole arm in while no one is watching. So? What?

4. Then I added a layer of calico and watch while my classmates pulled theirs tight and start to tack and trim. Mine never got tight enough... Not enough tension... Still not enough tension. First time anyone has ever accused me of not being tense enough. In upholstery I am the least tense person in the room.

5. Home, a hard work feeling on my hands and far less tension all over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.