Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Desperate in the Reflection

This photo reveals that I am desperate -- taking a photo of myself in the window on the other side of the patio -- sheeeeesh!

The patio moment began when I decided that we ought to eat our lunch outdoors on the patio. This day turned into an "A+ lovely" in mild temperature, gentle breeze, and clear air; all of that made the view over the meadow to the foothills across town a definite distraction.

I've been in the thick of reading and marking student papers all weekend. This is taking longer than usual because I had my students submit their projects online into an "assignment dropbox." Never have done this before, so I didn't realize the numerous extra steps it required from me. Once I get a solid routine and procedure, I should gather some speed and accomplish this in less time. I have 60 students who have each submitted 6 summaries; do the math, I have too much to grade. Thankfully, I'm just about finished.

Midway through the afternoon, I looked up from the computer screen and recognized the reflection on the window across the way. A photo of that is desperation, don't you think! I think, though, it does show enough of the backyard to realize why I love that environment.

Mr. Fun sat just inside from the patio all afternoon watching racing on the TV. Cars, engines, wheels, loud sounds, and beautiful paint -- that's his addiction. He was amazing, though, when it was time for dinner and he realized that if he allowed me to cook, we'd have "student projects grilled"!! So he made dinner--grilled us each a chicken breast and a fabulous array of garden veggies (not our garden, but someone's garden).

There was just a teeny-tiny spot on the news about Paul McCartney getting married today. Wow! I'm hoping for more coverage tomorrow. I've always thought he was so cute and he seems to be a wonderful human. Of course much of his music has been on the soundtrack of our lives. I hope this marriage will be good for him.

I have an overly full Monday -- but I'll be right back here tomorrow evening.
Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. I just noticed the photo from a year ago, so clicked, and then read the message. Now my eyes are overflowing and my heart hurts -- I miss these friends. I'm thrilled that Blipfoto provides a place to capture them; well, capture memories of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.