Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Palm Tree Row

I've been at the campus all day. I waved goodbye to Mr. Fun at 7:30ish this morn and was gone. The parking lot seemed unusually empty. It must be the seventh inning stretch. At the end of next week, we will be half way through the 16 week semester.

There were no absences in my Thursday morning class. So maybe the parking lot filled after I walked inside. Writing Center duty, morning class, a few moments in my office, meeting with the book rep, and afternoon workshop that stretched 45 minutes longer than planned, but it was needed time with a colleague who is teaching Blackboard 9.1 to the faculty who teach online or hybrid or web-enhanced classes -- and that was my day.

So this is an angle of the campus that I don't see often. This is coming from the IT (Industrial Building) to my left looking to the right you can see the Library building (where my office is located on the first floor, which is below the level of this photo because an ampitheater was dug into the landscape), so the first floor of the library is lower than many other buildings but level with the parking lot. This is also looking past the newest building on campus (which can barely be seen on the right) the Student Success Building. It doesn't seem like a successful place at all to me because it is the "hang-out" center and dining hall. Everyone gathers there to socialize.

The temperature was "flip-flop and t-shirt" friendly today . . . still too hot for mid-October. When I arrived home at 4:30 Mr. Fun was ready to grill dinner. He had a mound of veggies prepared and ready to place on the barbeque. He had an evening meeting to get to, so he knew that dinner had to be consumed early.

Now I have homework to do for the class I'm enrolled into -- I think we have an online quiz this evening, and I have papers to read and grade. So I better keep moving. I hope to get back here late to cruise some pages; I've missed doing that lately because of all the work.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. I wonder if anyone has ever counted the number of palm trees on our campus. It looks like dozens and dozens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.