michigan man

By outdoorguy

Nuthatch

My nuthatches are back! My nuthatches are back! I don't know where they have been. I haven't seen them all summer.They are quite forward...not skittish. I came from my van to the back porch, and the tiny birds landed right next to me on the dead bush that surrounds my feeder. Them and the chickadees. Fearless or ignorant...I don't know which.

We haven't seen the sun since Sunday. 3 straight days of clouds, rain, and drizzle. I'm getting some Florida tingles...and I'm probably not going for another 3.5 months. Sad. I was downtown taking some duck shots...and my shutter finger...my trigger finger...froze up on me. 45 degrees and my fingers are cold. I had to wiggle it out.

I'm not sure the birds like my new feeder. Usually by 9 a.m., the feeder is empty. It's now 1p.m., and there's still seed in it. When I was taking this picture there were 4 squirrels within 10 feet. They are usually combative, but these four got along pretty good. Relatives...maybe?

P.S. I stand (or sit) corrected. It's a tufted titmouse...not a nuthatch. I feel so ashamed...but I'm sure I'll get over it.

Gotta love the nuthatches hairdo. Do you think they use some kind of gel to keep it spiked up like that?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.