michigan man

By outdoorguy

Just Missed It

I snuck down the short hill as slow as I could...camera in hand. I wasn't sneaking up on anything. The ducks swam the other way. I took about six shots of the 2 couples. Then...suddenly...all four ducks bolted!!

I've never been very good at the action shots, especially of birds. I think I get so excited that I jerk the camera in the direction of the takeoff. I try not to, but I think I do.

I got 3 quick shots of this getaway. On the first one...I chopped off the females beak, just barely missing. The 3rd shot was out-of-focus. On this shot...all you can see of the female is in the left upper corner, but I did like how the water was disturbed. That's one great thing about snapping pictures. You miss-miss-miss...then once in a while...you get one. This was not it...but you keep trying. Such fun!!

I should have just photo-shopped over the female with some of the weedy background, and acted like I nailed the male...but I couldn't bring myself to do it. As people say way too much..It is what it is.

Watched my grandson while his mom and dad went hunting. No shots or kills for either one, although my son-in-law did get one last week. Gun season almost over. Mom-in-law is still in Intensive Care, but was a little more alert today.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.