No Static

By nostatic

#3 Wolf Notes - *AR

Album: Wolf Notes
Artist: *AR

One line synopsis: Incredibly moving, landscape inspired, neo-classical journey.

Best Track: the album works best as a whole

---------------------------------

My indie kid roots seem to have become more and more diluted and one of the genres that I spend a lot of time exploring is the group of musicians lumped under neo-classical. It was Max Richter's incredible 'Blue Notebooks' that first grabbed my attention and from there (via Olafur Arnalds, Nils Frahm, Marsten Jules, Gonzales' Solo Piano) I stumbled across Richard Skelton. This release is Richard Skelton alongside Autumn Richardson and is a lot less harsh than Skelton's last solo release 'Landings', which you should also check out.

The other great thing about this album is the label, go to the Type records home page and have a listen to some of their other releases. They all have a feel of careful craftmanship and attention to detail. I'd recommend giving your ears some Yellow Swans, a bit of Peter Broderick and a touch of Grouper.

---------------------------------

Notes on the top 10:
* Yes I am sad enough to do a top 10 every year
* All albums must have been released this year
* I must own the physical copy of each of them
* I'm fairly sure there are other albums out there that would make this list had I got round to buying them - Grouper, Nils Frahm and Oneohtrix Point Never spring to mind
* full countdown tagged nstop102011

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.