Holzspielzeug

The German market at the foot of the Mound was just opening up as I reached Princes Street in the hunt for two last minute presents.
This stall of wooden figures and toys is always my favourite: just what one would imagine an old fashioned fairy tale German toy shop to be like.

There was another cancellation of his Lordship's Biggar walk today, and he took it with a good grace, even suggesting we go for a coffee together.
But Wednesdays have become days when I fry my own fish, and he took the " sorry, no date, consider yourself dumped for today" with equanimity. I'm wondering if he's coming down with something.

I hope not, as we are off at the crack of dawn tomorrow to savour the delights of Budapest, thereby avoiding what looks like a windy and cold weekend here.

The boarding passes have been printed out, the passports have been remembered, the taxi reservations at both ends have been made, and all that remains is to check that there are no scissors, nail clippers, penknives or any liquids, lurking in the darkest corners of the wash bags.
These terrorists, many of whom live in Britain at our expense have certainly made air travel hardly worth the effort.

My computer is not visiting Budapest this time and I will have to rely on my phone for the blips. Now that could be interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.