Early Morning call

Can you believe we were up, showered and dressed before 4:30am?
Such pleasure comes at a price.

We exited the Grand Central Hotel in Glasgow at 5:00am straight into the concourse of Central Station without putting one dainty little foot on the dark, icy pavements of the cold, cold sleeping city.
Such comfort comes at a price.

Once on the platform our luggage was whisked away, to hopefully reappear in our cabin on the ship, while we found our comfortable seats in the Pullman carriage.
Such arrangements come at a price.

On the train, our meals were served at a table with a flower arrangement, white damask tablecloth, napkins and silver cutlery.
Such opulence comes at a price.

During the journey, his Lordship on observing the carriages full of persons of a certain age tried to unsettle me by wondering if the train journey might be a duplicitous way of transporting people past their sell by date to a watery end in the channel.
Old age comes at a price

And so our Christmas holiday started.
Such an extravaganza comes at a price.

Hopefully it will be worth every penny.

Edit: having tried 4 times to post this blip on my I-phone and getting an error 600 each time, I gave up and am posting this from my computer on board ship.
If anyone knows why I keep getting this error, please let me know.
I will contact Blip Central in due course.[

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.