Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Mr. Fun's Birthday

I was quite surprised when I phoned the Mission Inn two days ago and secured a dinner reservation for two that was in the early evening. Tonight I enjoyed a special dinner with the person who holds the position of "most special" in my life: Mr. Fun!

The birthday dinner was delightful and delicious. Our server recommend that we start with a chopped salad, so we did andwith a variety of ingredients, it was full of favor. Then he had ordered salmon and I ordered rib steak and we each shared with the other and agreed that both entrees were delicious, but the steak was certainly first place in flavor. For dessert we ordered chocolate souffle. The menu explained that if we ordered the souffle it would take 30 minutes. We weren't in a hurry; midway through our meal the server recommended that we should order the dessert. The souffle arrived with a large dollop of whipped cream and the yummiest chocolate sauce.

The best aspect of the dinner was simply being together. He's my best friend. We talked about the first birthday we celebrated together years ago and we can neither one remember the moment. He was turning 20 and I was 16 and we had a baby that was less than a month old. We must have done something special to celebrate that birthday, but we can't remember. Over the years we've had plenty of birthday parties. Occasionally I've surprised him with a whole houseful of people who all jump out and holler "surprise!" A few times I've planned and excuted birthday dinner parties for him with special groups of people. One time I took him to Arizona as a surprise so we could visit friends. Another time I planned a trip to San Antonio, Texas, so we could see the River Walk. All of those were wonderful birthdays, but nothing beats just being together, alone, conversing about the years, the celebrations, the miles we traveled, and the memories we've made.

He is my best friend, my soulmate, and the one who completes me because we are so opposite of each other. We're sure those opposites attracted us to each other, but numerous times during our years of marriage those opposites have wanted to attack the other. We're convinced that marriage is a mystery and that each day is an opportunity to encourage one another.

There's so much more I could explain about Mr. Fun and possibly I will as time allows and I continue to be an addicted blipper, but for now, I'd just point you toward the blip I wrote about Mr. Fun last year (just click the photo in the bottom right corner of my blip page) -- there you will learn what I think about this man I call Mr. Fun.

Good night from Southern California,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. Tomorrow the celebration continues as we leave here for a couple nights at the coast. I'll report about this next episode of birthday celebrating tomorrow evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.